Ban on Exit Polls during State assembly elections

Election Commission of India , Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand, exit polls, Uttar Pradesh

The Election Commission had notified the period of prohibition of conduct of Exit Polls for on-going State legislative assembly elections of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh vide Notification dated: 27th January, 2017. The period notified was from 7.00A.M on 04/02/2017 to  17.30 Hours (5.30 PM) on 8/3/2017.

Due to death of contesting candidates, namely, Chand Shekhar and Kuldeep Singh Kanwasi from 279- Alapur (SC) Assembly constituency of the Uttar Pradesh and from 06-Karna Prayag Assembly Constituency of Uttarakhand respectively, the Commission adjourned the poll in the  aforesaid two constituencies and fixed 9th March 2017 (Thursday) as the date of poll in the said constituencies.

In view of the above, the Commission, in exercise of the powers under sub-section(1) of Section 126 A of the Representation of the People Act 1951 extended  the period of prohibition of conduct of Exit Polls up to 5.30 P.M. of 09/03/2017. Therefore, conducting of exit poll and disseminating result of any exit poll stands prohibited till 5.30 P.M. of 9th March 2017.

You May Also Like: