Myanmar: 6 Hindus massacred by terrorists

The extremists in Myanmar murdered six Hindus in cold blood after opening an indiscriminate fire on them. The attack killed three Hindu children, two Hindu men, and one Hindu woman on the spot. Two women are still seriously injured and their details have not been shared by the State Councillor Officer, Myanmar.

The office released details saying that 12 Hindi (meaning Hindu) families came to do some work at Myinlut and were later going back to Maungtaw when they mistakenly arrived at a place where the extremists and the Myanmar government skirmishes are going on. To escape from the spot they ran to an under-construction District Court building where the militants opened an indiscriminate fire at them. Four children however managed to escape from the scene of the massacre and ran to the four-mile B.H.S, the press input from the office noted.

The injured are housed at the Maungtaw Hospital while others have taken refuge in the family members’ houses at the Bhuthidaung.

Myanmar is fighting Rohingya insurgents for long. Due to violence between Rohingya separatists and Myanmarese forces, many people have lost their lives and many have rushed to India to seek refuge where they have found themselves unwelcomed due to reports that many could have become radicalized. The government of Myanmar has also declared the Arakan Rohingya Salvation Army (ARSA) terrorist group recently.

Rohingya Muslims: India secular, grateful to Hindus for help

What India has to say about the violence:

In a press statement dated August 26th August, Ministry of External Affairs noted:

“India is seriously concerned by reports of renewed violence and attacks by terrorists in northern Rakhine State Myanmar. We are deeply saddened at the loss of lives among members of the Myanmar security forces. Such attacks deserve to be condemned in the strongest possible terms. We hope that the perpetrators of these crimes will be brought to justice and we extend our strong support at this challenging moment to the Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar.”