Gorkha communities to get ST status soon?

Gorkha communities in India, at least some of them, may get ST status.

Ministry of Tribal Affairs has invited suggestions from the states on the issue of granting ST status to eleven Gorkha communities.

Gorkha communities being considered are:

Union Ministry of Tribal Affairs has invited views of various states on granting of ST status to eleven Gorkha communities viz. Bhujel, Gurung, Mangar, Newar, Jogi, Khas, Rai, Sunwar, Thami, Yakha, (Dewan) and Dhimal living in Sikkim and other Gorkha dominated States and areas.

The States have also been requested to provide historical and ethnographic details as well as demographic profile including education, occupational status etc. in respect of these communities. The States may also forward the representations, if any, received from the above communities.

It may be recalled that Ministry of Tribal Affairs vide its order dated September 14, 2016 has constituted a Committee to examine and recommend granting ST status to these communities. Vishnu Mani, Deputy Director General of Ministry of Tribal Affair is the Chairperson of this Committee. The Committee has been asked to consult Government of Sikkim and all respective States where a significant Gorkha population resides and suggest as to grant of ST Status with a mechanism to ensure fairness of reservations for these communities. The Committee has been asked to submit its report within three months.

You May Also Like:

Patients from North East coming to Delhi for treatment must read